Shropshire Chess
The Official Website of the Shropshire Chess Association (founded 1894)




4NCL r 9-11

Minor KO begins

Meeting at Telepost re league structure

Cox KO begins

Find Your Local Chess Club
Interested in chess? Then whatever your standard you're sure to find a warm welcome amongst the regulars at one of our
Shropshire Chess Clubs

To all Shropshire Team Captains
Web Scorecard
Thanks to Graham Ives' impressive programming skills and system design,
this is our
fully automatic results and tables database.- Vinny Crean

Latest Local Newspaper Articles:
League season roundup
Read Toby Neal's Report on the county chess scene in the
Shropshire Star each Tuesday.

Talking Points - Does the league need restructuring ?
Meeting at Telepost Tues 09 May 2017.
League Results Feed

Rapid Play Division 1


Division 1

30-Mar-2017, Telepost A v Newport A: 2.5 - 2.5
30-Mar-2017, Newport B v Oswestry A: 1.5 - 3.5

  16-Mar-2017, Telford A v Telepost A: 1 - 3
16-Mar-2017, Telford A v Priorslee Lions A: 0.5 - 3.5
16-Mar-2017, Priorslee Lions A v Telepost A: 2 - 2
15-Mar-2017, Brewood A v Priorslee Lions A: 1.5 - 2.5
15-Mar-2017, Telepost A v Brewood A: 4 - 0
15-Mar-2017, Brewood A v Telford A: 1.5 - 2.5  
11-Apr-2017, Wellington A v Newport C: 4 - 0
11-Apr-2017, Priorslee Lions B v Shrewsbury A: 1.5 - 2.5
11-Apr-2017, Telepost B v Newport B: 2 - 2
11-Apr-2017, Newport B v Wellington A: 1.5 - 2.5
11-Apr-2017, Priorslee Lions B v Telepost B: 1.5 - 2.5
11-Apr-2017, Newport C v Shrewsbury A: 0 - 4

Division 2

06-Apr-2017, Telepost C v Newport Juniors: 2 - 3
05-Apr-2017, Telford B v Wellington A: 1 - 4

Division 3

14-Apr-2017, Oswestry B v Telepost D: 1.5 - 2.5
30-Mar-2017, Newport C v Priorslee Lions B: 0.5 - 3.5

Summer Team Quickplay
Was held on Sunday, June 5, at the Wrekin Housing Trust, Telford..
Details here - Toby Neal- controller

Shropshire Rapidplay League
Details and rules here - Chris Lewis - controller
Shropshire Individual Championship.
7 round swiss played from October to June, one round per month. ( Nick Rutter - controller
Summer KO Cup Team Competitions
Details here for the Cox Trophy
and the Minor Knockout Trophy
Keith Tabner - Controller  
Shrewsbury Town Championships 2017
Please get your entries in ASAP
Details here - Keith Tabner - controller
Change of Chess Club Details
Church Stretton Chess Club has wound up.
Schools Chess
The Mercia Mega Final (Herefordshire and Shropshire) of the Delancy UK Chess Challenge will take place at Hereford Cathedral School, Sunday 14 May. Secondary school pupils can enter directly without the need to qualify:
Primary school pupils can still qualify through the Last Chance Saloon 9-12noon Wednesday 12 April Hereford. Please email to enter.
Richard Croot - 31/03/2017
Shropshire Chess Association AGM 20th July 2016
Minutes now available here

Glyn Pugh - General Secretary
Shropshire Chess Congress 2016
Annotated Games, Reports and Photo Gallery here
Link to Live Games
Courtesy of Shrewsbury Chess Club 
Newport Summer Rapidplay Tournaments
Details here - Chris Lewis - controller

Summer Team Quickplay 2013 - Report here

Unity Cup 2014 details here

Shropshire Chess Congress 2013
Results here - Report and picture gallery here - Anotated master game here
County Teams
Open Team - withdrawn
U140 Team - withdrawn
January 2017 Grades
Here are the Shropshire Grades.
Shropshire Rapidplay Grades
and online grading database,
- Nick Rutter 03/02/2017
ECF Direct Membership
To join click here
Membership list here
Daily Chess Puzzle
To solve just move the pieces on the board

2015-16 Role of Honour
Div 1 Champions = Newport A............ Runners Up = Telepost A.........
Div 2 Champions = Ludlow A............ Runners Up = Newport B........
Div 3 Champions = Telepost C.............Runners Up = Newport Jnrs......
Quickplay Winners =Telepost............Runners Up =Newport...........
Cox Trophy Winners =Telepost A...Runners Up =Newport A........
Minor KO Winners = Ludlow A...........Runners Up = Newport B......
The 2015 County Individual Champion - Nigel Ferrington
2015 Shrewsbury Town Champion - Nigel Ferrington
2014-15 Role of Honour
Div 1 Champions =Priorslee Lions A............ Runners Up = Newport A.........
Div 2 Champions = Church Stretton A............ Runners Up = Telford B........
Div 3 Champions = Newport B.............Runners Up = Church Stretton B......
Quickplay Winners =Telepost............Runners Up = Shrewsbury...........
Cox Trophy Winners =Newport A...Runners Up =Shrewsbury A........
Minor KO Winners = Telepost B...........Runners Up = Church Stretton A......
The 2015 County Individual Champion - Nick Rutter
2015 Shrewsbury Town Champion - Nigel Ferrington
County Teams
Division 1
Division 2
Division 3
Junior Chess

Individual Cup
Cox Trophy
Minor KO
Shrewsbury Town Championships
Shropshire Chess Club Sites
Priorslee Lions Chess Club
Oswestry Chess Club
Newport Chess Club
Shrewsbury Chess Club
Telepost Chess Club
Telford Chess Club
Ludlow Chess Club
Home Page Archive
Links to Other Chess Sites
Further contributions are welcome. - email website editor -